Email this page to a friend or associate!
  Mike Holt Code Forum
  Archives
  wire size 200 amp service for home


register | my profile | faq | archive search

next newest topic | next oldest topic
Author Information Topic:   wire size 200 amp service for home
Member

   
Name: Sean Shannon
Email: ourlifeaway@yahoo.com
Location: Virginia
Title: Electrician
In Trade Since: 1992
Registered: Jun 2002
Total Posts: 1

posted November 07, 2002 at 07:53 AM       Edit/Delete Message
I am living in an old house in VA and have done some remodeling on the house. The main Panel is a 200amp 240volt main with a #2awg feeding from the pole about 70 foot from the house With the remodeling we have noticed alot more of the lights flickering and dimming when the baseboard heaters,refrigerator, etc. kick on.

My question is shouldn't the #2awg be a larger size wire? We are sub-feeding a 100amp 240 volt panel also off the same service

IP: 63.16.7.198

Member

   
Name: Stephan Galvin
Email: studiac@bwig.net
Location: Minnesota
Title: Electrician
In Trade Since: 1994
Registered: Oct 2002
Total Posts: 41

posted November 07, 2002 at 10:14 AM       Edit/Delete Message
Are you an electrician? Says so but kind of hard to beleive, if not we would still answer your questions, sometimes with that we might also recommend hiring an electrician (not always). With that said you need a 2/0 copper or 4/0 alum to feed a 200amp dwelling service.

IP: 206.10.150.5

Member

   
Name: Tom Baker
Email: tom@psetraining.com
Location: Washington
Title: Instructor
In Trade Since: 1978
Registered: Apr 2001
Total Posts: 1274

posted November 07, 2002 at 01:38 PM       Edit/Delete Message
Perhaps not on the service size. Whos conductors are they? If they belong to the serving utility they don't size per the NEC? Perhaps its a voltage problem from your utility. What size is the transformer, how far away is it, and how many customers are on it. Has the problem just started? Are all the connections in your service tight and corrosion free?
The problem may be related to your remodeling. What kind of wire did you run from the meter to the panel?

IP: 12.82.167.247

Member

   
Name: Greg Boyan
Email: greg@amboh.com
Location: Indiana
Title: Contractor
In Trade Since: 1997
Registered: Nov 2002
Total Posts: 3

posted November 08, 2002 at 02:08 AM       Edit/Delete Message
To me it sounds like someone put a new 200A main panel in without the service feed being changed. I agree that 2/0 CU, 4/0 AL should be used from the pole to the service entrance. I bet someone did the upgrade inside without telling the local power company. Probably too much load for that feed, and I would imagine that meter dial is spinning very fast.

IP: 67.241.86.183

Member

   
Name: Robert h Keis
Email: rkeis@dca.net
Location: Delaware
Title: Consultant
In Trade Since: 1960
Registered: Feb 2003
Total Posts: 9

posted November 08, 2002 at 12:30 PM       Edit/Delete Message
Just because you increase the service size don't mean the utility has to, or even will increase their "service drop". From the pole to the house belongs to and is sized by the utility.

IP: 208.0.34.205

Member

   
Name: Gary Steeley
Email: steeley@carolina.rr.com
Location: North carolina
Title: Contractor
In Trade Since: 1975
Registered: Mar 2002
Total Posts: 22

posted November 14, 2002 at 09:12 PM       Edit/Delete Message
PLEASE get others opion, but the transformer on the pole may be the problem.

Going bad, or not enough KVA rating.

Thanks All.

IP: 24.74.10.215

Member

   
Name: Gary Steeley
Email: steeley@carolina.rr.com
Location: North carolina
Title: Contractor
In Trade Since: 1975
Registered: Mar 2002
Total Posts: 22

posted November 14, 2002 at 09:14 PM       Edit/Delete Message
PLEASE get others opion, but the transformer on the pole may be the problem.

Going bad, or not enough KVA rating.

(Thinking about the light flickering

Thanks All.

IP: 24.74.10.215

Member

   
Name: Andre Michalik
Email: amichalik@msn.com
Location: Illinois
Title: Electr. engineer, instructor, cert. inspector
In Trade Since: 1985
Registered: Jan 2002
Total Posts: 545

posted November 15, 2002 at 12:14 AM       Edit/Delete Message
Many, many times I've found flickering problem starting with bad connection at meter or deteriorated contact of main breaker.
Check if it happened every time with switching on a resistive appliance (as basebord heater) and is later stable or flickering occures when heater is working.
Checking voltage with digital voltmeter is the best.
Unstable voltage in some random period indicates bad connection (deteriorated contact).
Andre

IP: 67.195.25.132

Member

   
Name: Charlie Eldridge
Email: charlie.eldridge@aes.com
Location: Indiana
Title: Utility power engineer
In Trade Since: 1967
Registered: Aug 2002
Total Posts: 77

posted November 15, 2002 at 07:14 AM       Edit/Delete Message
Most electric utilities have a department that addresses voltage flicker and low voltage . . . contact them! A 200 ampere service is normally served with a drop of #2 Al. triplex and, if we feel like the load is not really there, an additional service. Sometimes the drop gets overloaded, a bad connection is made or develops, and the transformer is too small, the secondary is to long or to small and the list goes on. If the problem is on the customer's end, that can be determined as well.

IP: 204.180.59.1

All times are EST (US)

next newest topic | next oldest topic

  

Contact Us | Mike Holt Enterprises, Inc.